Dream of Painted Eyes

I dreamed this morning of moving between settings or places. I made my way, at one point, to the warehouse home of a man who seemed a combination of David Hildalgo and Cesar Rosas (Los Lobos).

The man was in his late thirties or early forties. I was recovering from some torment and was drawn to him. I went to see him even though I knew he was married and later wondered if it was not  a completely cool thing to be hanging out with him.

He was gentle and strong. I figured he would set the tone for our encounter.

On my arrival I was a little apprehensive about being accepted but I needed his energy to calm me.  He was living a cool alterna life on a level that appealed to my aesthetic sensibilities. There were interesting things in his environment and it was a personal, authentic style that he had built around himself.

Aside: What do I mean by that? I have been in the homes of some people, not often but on occasion, where all the decor is completely removed from thier essense or personality. Nothing in their home speaks of them and the seem to have assembled things by rote. I think you know what I mean. I love entering a space that speaks of the person. A space rich with things that tell you something about them.

Back to the dream.

This man’s home was low key but deep with meaning.

At one point the man’s wife came by. She didn’t seem upset and it didn’t seem she even noticed my presence. I slipped out the large open warehouse side door and went elsewhere.

Later I was going to a gathering. It was in a place with two or three floors all open and intertwined with open staircases and landings.

I noticed, at once seeing myself as if in a mirror, that I had beautifully decorated eyes. Though the painted portions were actually the surface of my eye balls it did not seem at all strange to me. I thought the look was quite entrancing. I gave myself quick non-ego centered props.

I had gone to the gathering expecting to see the man. There was another man who was more of an authority figure standing on one of the staircases. He was trying to explain something to me. He seemed sort of like a police investigator but there was none of the self-important, control-freak elements that can be found in law enforcement peeps.

I woke up shortly after arriving at this place. I wanted to return to sleep but the morning light had broken the dream spell.

Here is a rude approximation of the eye design:

In the dream the eyes did not look startled and of course the design was sublime. They did have design elements above and below the corneas. In dreams things are very different and often contradict physical reality.

I love dreaming.

 

 

I could launch into an examination of home interiors from here. I am fascinated by interior design and by cool personalized spaces.

I’m going hunting for some inspiration. If I don’t find pictures of the type of thing I’m talking about. I’ll start a project of my own taking pix of really cool rooms.

Anybody want to volunteer their space?

Here are really cool refrigerators.

 

2 Responses to “Dream of Painted Eyes”

  1. I think that this dream is really speaking about your character. Obviously, you have an “eye” for things unique and “beautiful.” The dream is a self awareness dream that is releasing more confidence into yourself by releasing more awareness of your personal identity. This seems especially true to me because of your emotions portrayed at the beginning of the dream: apprehension, fear, negative emotions, etc. You also expressed the need to be “calmed.”

    As for the second part of your dream, I hope you can remember what the authority figure said to you because it was probably really important; even if it was cryptic! The presence the figure gave to you leads me to believe that they are revealing direction or speaking destiny into you.

  2. Lance, Thanks so much for contributing your insights. I’ll definitely be reading the material on your site in the coming days.
    What I recall of the authortiy figure is that he was standing on a flight of stairs. He was low key, accepting, not judgemental. He seemed to be informing me about the overall way that this gathering would go, and maybe a little about to conduct oneself but there were no specifics attached to that.
    It was mostly a very subtle reassurance that I’d be cool in this grand place. I think I was looking for a specific person (the “authentic” man of earlier). I though I saw him but he looked different. Thinner and dressed in more gang-style fashion.
    The man on the stairs seemed to be “saying” in that other worldly way, communicating via telepathy, that everything would be as it should be. Sort of indicating that I had arrived in the right place and was free to move around.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

