Ginsberg Gnome

Ah, sun! I sing of you. With the light comes motivation and with fresh commitment come ideas.

Today I imagined a new series of gnome dolls.

What’s new about gnomes, you ask.

I hear you but imagine Beat Gnomes.

I’m going to create literary gnomes. Gnomes have been on my list and this morning I envisioned Allen Ginsberg as a gnome.

I think it’s a good thing that Ginsberg be made in the form of a gnome. I will give him love beads and a white flowing long shirt.

“Put on my shirt and took it off in the sun walking the path to lunch.”

Ginsberg from 136 syllables at Rocky Mountain Dharma Center.

A long, thin William Burroughs gnome seems a good companion. He, too, will have a white shirt but in contrast to Allen’s East Indian shirt Burrough’s will be more business-like. I might use a little plastic gun I have to make a necklace for Burroughs because he was such a freak about those things.

Walt Whitman would also make a good gnome and I would make him britches.

Whitman: “A PROMISE to California,
Also to the great Pastoral Plains, and for Oregon:
Sojourning east a while longer, soon I travel toward you, to remain,
to teach robust American love;
For I know very well that I and robust love belong among you, inland,
and along the Western Sea;
For These States tend inland, and toward the Western Sea–and I will
also. “

A new skectch for a new day. Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

