The Gap

The week is flying by. The dolls will be finished by Monday but there are so many details to attend to before then. All the slow, focused work is making me a little skittish. This is not news. I should change my name to Fretta.

The clothing phase of Soft Girl doll creation is making me especially nervous. I frequently remind myself that one learns through repetition –practice, practice, practice– and that perfection is a delusion.

And then I ask myself — aren’t most artists tortured by the gap between the sparkling initial vision and the finished work?

Today there is no room for doubt only the work and the sincere longing to do the best one can. So, back to the cutting board.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

