Archive for February 21, 2008

Matchbox art

Posted in Uncategorized on February 21, 2008 by darcyarts

I started small. Before I ever put a brush to gessoed board I began to decorate devotional candles and matchboxes.

The idea of painting was intimidating. I didn’t even know if I could draw an image of anything. That was about three years ago.

I am much more comfortable now about painting but still have so much to learn and I always learn everything by experiencing it first hand at least I learn anything I want to spend time doing that way.

But I found my cache of decorated mathcboxes a few months ago and thought “Hey those look pretty good!”

I put a flock of them into my etsy shop (http://darcyarts.etsy.com). The first to sell were one with a repurposed image of Boy George and another with a skull and the words “my gun is quick.” Thank you, dear dkt 113.

boygeorge1.jpg

Then the really bitchin’   Twiggy matchbox sold next to ambo 723 .

twiggy1.jpg

Next was Marilyn Manson, though the sweet and talented Texas-based etsy tile artist tilesmile didn’t know Marilyn from a mung bean. She was buying the box to use to bear a sweet gift for her niece.

marilynmanson1.jpg

Finally, the brilliant missamanda82 bought my fave, the Funkadelic Maggot Brain.

maggotbrain1.jpg

I’ll miss that laughing face.

Now I’m waiting to find a home for Annie Oakley.

annieoakley.jpg

and Isaac Hayes isaachayes.jpg

