Art for Arts Sake

Good Saturday,

I have been keeping the hours of a dairy farmer. Well, almost. I’ve been conking out at 9 p.m. and rising at 6 a.m. I just can’t seem to wait to get started on new projects.

Sometimes my head is dancing with ideas and sometimes I’m just eager to get to the projects that I already have underway.

I opened a new etsy shop last week _ BittyPix_ and that has kept me even busier than I usually am. In true Gemini fashion I needed another outlet for simpler, less colorful art projects/creations.

At BittyPix I have miniature framed (sort of) pictures, illustrations done in permanent ink on Shrinky Dink acrylic “paper.” It is super fun to see them get small. It appeals to the sloppy person in me when the shrinking melts what might appear to be mistakes in a larger piece. It’s a whole new learning process for color though. Only the slightest and lightest colors work.

Today, I did two Obamas from a drawing I did while watching one of the debates. They shrink in different ways each time I guess and so, the two look different. One is rounder and the other longer. It’s strange. I have been thinking of purposeful distortions for future art projects.

Here is a pix I did from an old encyclopedia image:

Pretty cool, huh?

The boy looks so imperturbable. You just have to wonder what’s going on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This one came out cool and is the second of my 70s TV show Lunchbox set:

Kung Fu, motar fokar!

I needed the simple black and white to balance my color mania over at darcyarts.etsy. It is a wild riot of color and I love that, too. Guess I thrive on Duality. Of course, as you can see I dip into color a bit.

If you want color, bright, smart, funny stuff check out cbtscloset at etsy. CBT is a Scorpio from San Antonio. Yes!

 I am in love with her BigFoot couple and only wish I didn’t have to wait until my Bush Administration Bucks show up to but them. Curses.

How cool is this:

Note: June 28. 08 _ Etsy was down and all its pix links are out. You can see more of CBT’s stuff at cbtscloset.etsy.com (see link above) or here are her other spots

www.diy-or-die.net
flickr.com/photos/cbtscloset
myspace.com/cbtscloset

One Response to “Art for Arts Sake”

  1. I am a Gemini too! I wish I was keeping the hours of a Dairy Farmer- I can’t seem to go go bed until the wee hours of the morning. I have the idea thing going on too — and that could be the cause of my restlessness.

    I enjoy your drawings. Keep ’em coming

Leave a Reply

