Springfield vs The Seeds, 9th Grade War

The day I published my Mothers of Invention post I checked into my Etsy shop and found that I had sold a print of my freshly cropped Frank Zappa portrait.

I figured that was pretty cosmic. It was the first Zappa print I had ever sold.

The woman who bought it turned out to be a beautiful and ultra tuned-in free thinker. We convoed back and for a bit. It turn out her brother was Pamela Des Barres first boyfriend. Nutty, huh?

I have been charting the cosmic for a while now. I read (present tense) a ton of books about life after life, life between life, life before life, you know. My curiosities run toward the magical.

I’m not alone. There are more and more TV shows centered around psychic phenomena.

I lament that they didn’t do another season of Psychic Kids with the heroic Chip Coffey. Though the Biography channel is showing reruns.

Yesterday, The View, which I turn on for my granny to watch as she’s eating her morning meal, had psychic James Van Praagh on and a duo of ex-plumber ghost hunters, Jason Hawes and Grant Wilson.

Psychic phenomena and attempted communications from departed loved ones can happen in many ways.  

We should take notice of little things that float onto our real life screen.  We hear about something we’d just thought about. We see a butterfly floating near us in conjunction thoughts about a missed friend.

Feathers are supposed to be widely used as a visual communication from those on the other side though I have yet to see one. There are many ways the other side tries to get our attention. The signs are simple, subtle.

Some call it coincidence. Bob’s line “Take what you have gathered from coincidence” from “It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue” has always resonated with me. And I have gathered plenty.

I like to call Dylan “Bob.” In my head, he deserves the one name power-diva move like Cher, Madonna, Judy, cuz there is only one Bob for me.

Okay, I’ll try to get back to the point here. Notice the title of this post. I will often get a blank page up and slap a title on it to hold an an idea I have for a future post. I decided it was time to explore the fascinating high school-era topic of dueling favorite bands.

Last night as my honey watched his evening hour of All My Children I was stunned to hear The Seeds “Can’t Seem to Make You Mine” being played over a happy-gathering bar dance scene.

AMC never plays anything retro or anywhere near that cool. I sat there letting my soul roll thinking of Sky Saxon.

“I cant seem to make you mine, aww.”  It was always the whiny longing in that “aww” at the end of the line that got your attention. Well, here, check it out:

After seeing the next video with Sky playing the teardrop bass, I wonder if her fancied himself the American Brian Jones.

The mighty Leo frontman will have a birthday on the 20th. I have to say that Sky was really strange and magnetic but not very smart. That’s okay. He was very good at what he did.

One of my favorite Kim Fowley quotes is this: “Sky Saxon is what you’d get if Mick Jagger had sex with a donkey.” Snarky? YES! But Kim is special, an unrecognized genius. He’s got a great, if warped mind, and he’s still here doing it. Dig him now in Mayor of the Sunset Strip!

That Fowley quote comes via Barney Hoskyns’ book “Waiting For the Sun: Strange Days, Weird Scenes and the Sound of Los Angeles.” A very informative portrait of LA as a music town.

Back in the 9th grade I liked the Seeds but I loved the Buffalo Springfield. I came in to my first and only year of high school fully loaded with a radical obsession with music and a particular fondness for the Springfield.

That bent lead me to become friends with a girl in my science class. Her name was name Pam Sprout.

Yes, the testosterone-poisoned young men had a field day. It didn’t help that Pam was stacked, as they used to say, and drew their attention anyway. Pam was a very smart girl and one who had the DIY spirit early on. She didn’t take much shit from anyone. She was cool and kinda femme butch and she loved the Seeds.

We spent lunch hours arguing the superiority of one band over the other. I went to see the Springfield whenever they played within reasonable parent-driving distance. Pam dragged me to see the Seeds whenever she could get someone to drive us to L.A.

Go back and watch that You Tube videos one more time. You see the organ player who seems to love himself a whole lot? That’s Daryl Hooper. He was Pam’s favorite. I said “Eww.”

Oh, but the seductive sideburns! The Jeffersonian cuffs and stylee-thing of his jacket! The boots!

Maybe he had an audition with Paul Revere and the Raiders that afternoon.  Maybe I was jealous.

6 Responses to “Springfield vs The Seeds, 9th Grade War”

  1. Hello! Ran across your blog. Not sure if I like that quote about a cross between Mick Jagger and a donkey. Sky was and is much better looking than Mick Jagger could ever hope to be … but then maybe I’m prejudiced.

    We had no idea that AMC played one of Sky’s songs. It is pretty sad that he pretty much sold all of his publishing rights to Crescendo back in the late 60’s to all the songs that now get a lot of play in tv shows, movies, and that AXE commercial that came out lately.

    We are still trying to pull all the old contracts together to see if Crescendo did anything underhanded in getting Sky to sign over ALL publishing rights. He only gets minor writers rights that’s it …

    Anyway …. Sky and I married on 7/7/07 after having only known each other two months. I know – crazy …. but oh well we only live once in this lifetime, right? So the past year we’ve been getting to know each other basically. What a trip!!!

    Anyway, The Seeds will be performing in L.A. in the coming months and Sky will be touring Europe November and December. So he is alive and well and so are The Seeds!

    Please note his official site is: http://www.skysaxon.com

    And his myspace site is: http://www.myspace.com/theseeds

    Thanks for writing nice things about him other than the donkey quote and not being very smart quote …. nice blog ….

    By the way, just to let everyone know who didn’t know …. The Seeds had really LONG hair …. To be on American Bandstand and all those shows they were forced to cut their hair …. so it was definitely not Sky’s choice at all …. In the early days before appearing on those shows they all had long to their shoulders and below hair! Not sure if there are any photos of those days around at all ….

  2. Sabrina, welcome and thank you for contributing good info about Sky and the Seeds. They kick butt musically. I deeply appreciate hearing from those in the know.
    I write everything I write out of love. The donkey quote says much more about Kim Fowley than it does about Sky. Kim is a wounded child inside and often seeks to shock or irritate with his words. He’s had a tough row to hoe in this life.
    From what I’ve seen of Sky lately, which I admit isn’t much, he seems miles ahead of Kim in the spiritual aspect of loving, livng and learning but he’s working on it. Sky was always beautiful and you’ve got that right about Mick being less attractive than Sky. Sky was/is pretty hot and still very photogenic.

  3. And he does love the camera! And the camera does love him actually. Thanks for remembering him and mentioning him in your blog. I’m surprised you never saw him when he was living in Redding! He lived there for a little bit while he visited his first-born daughter! She lives there with her husband and two boys and she has a daughter who goes to college in San Diego. Also, her mother lives in Redding and has a dress shop/hair salon. Great work on your site!!!!

  4. ThanKs, Sabrina!

  5. I am curious. Who was my first boyfriend?
    X
    Pamela

  6. OMG Miss Pamela,
    So pleased to know that your sweet eyes have fallen on my lil’ blog.
    The lovely woman who bought a print of my Frank Zappa portrait said her brother, who’s name she did not mention, had attended your birthday party last summer.
    I immediately envisioned the picture of the pompadoured boy from your book.

Leave a Reply

