Spiders, Basil, New Orleans

Out this morning to have a look at the Cuke/Squash bucket I noticed the blossom on this chili had formed a little skirt around its middle. There is even a little bluish tassle. Dainty, eh?

I took a closer look and saw the fly. I sort of blew lightly in its direction and it wriggled but did not fly away.

Inside with the photo up on the screen I could see that a spider has a hold on this fly. See his little legs?

Good Work Spider!

I also had the opportunity to rescue the little brown spider I’d transferred to the Cuke/Squash bin from a watery death. I read that you could fill yellow containers with water to drown the aphids. I placed four tiny yellow lids in the bin and filled them.

I see less aphids on the squash blossoms but we’re still losing some to creepy destructo bugs.

I gues the little brown spider can only eat so many aphids. I also read that you can just squash some and that will act as a deterent.

What bug would want to eat in a place covered in aphid guts?

I guess you never know. It could be ambrosia to some.

Yesterday on my way to work I listened to the CD that came with this month’s Mojo. It’s a collection of tunes from Seattle’s Sub Pop label. It’s in honor of their 20th Anniversary.

I loved Flight of the Concord’s song “Bowie.” It’s satire and very, very funny.

I wanted to be able to put it right onto my blog. That frustrated desire made me realize I need to get schooled on how to transform music files.

I know there is a way. Now I must research. I must learn.

Do eggplants learn? What sort of work is it to grow their aubergine skin and tender whitish yellow-green insides?

I did not nip this bud from the cinnamon basil. I wanted to see the flowers. Very pretty.

They remind me of snap dragons.

I love the form of this series of blossoms. A tower of dark purple curves that open into pinkish lavender flowers. Beneath are green brown leaves and purple green stems.

And it is so fragrant.

It seems like New Orleans is calling. I mentioned it a few posts ago and Nick Spitzer’s American Routes had a great New Orleans-themed radio show last night.

It always captures my imagination because I have a desire to live in a place with a sense of community that matches my sensibilities.

It is wild, sweet, deep, imperfect and gloriously gaudy or so it is in my impressionable mind.

The humidity would be a draw back but it would curl my hair. That’s a good thing.

I recently watched a Miami Ink where Ami and the boys went to New Orleans. Yoji Harada is a cool guy (him with his band).

It seems he’s psychically sensitive, too. He could sense ghosty entities in the old firehouse where the boys stayed.

It was a little frightening to see the new gray wall of reinforced levy built in New Orleans and sad to see the damage still lingering.

I imagine that the new New Orleans is going to draw some very interesting people People who have a heart for the way things were, the history, the people and the rich, rich funky pot of cultural mojo. I would think the DIY spirit would be strong in the folks who go on this restorational adventure.

I hope New Orleans is peopled with creative doers and is not tragically transformed by developers who will kill the mojo. Maybe the mojo is so strong it can work to preserve the place as it is meant to be. And maybe if the city blossoms, righteously anew, the engrained mojo will drive away the greed demons.

Harry Shearer moved there. You can hear his radio program Le Show on NPR. It’s on Sunday from 10 to 11 a.m. on the Redding/Chico station at 88.9FM.

This picture is from a New Orleans blog, Squandered Heritage. Check it out. 

There is a conference going on this weekend “Rising Tide III: A Conference on the Future of New Orleans.”

Nick Spitzer said that Tulane had opened with full enrollment for this fall.

The 2009 New Orleans Jazz Festival will be at the end of April.

That sounds like a great vacation.

Harry Shearer used to travel there for it and do his show from there each year, Now he’s a permanent fixture.

One Response to “Spiders, Basil, New Orleans”

  1. my sis lives there. on magazine street in the garden district. fab locale. i’ll give you her number if you go.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

