Return of Slow and Lou

I have been very busy the last few days and am having to change my ways again.

Change is the constant. I couldn’t get bored if I tried.

Above is an interesting garbage container I met on  Street in San Francisco the last time I was there. Somebody tagged it with the name of one of my favorite musicians.

This very week I received two Lou Reed CDs. My favorites “Street Hassle” and “Sally Can’t Dance.”

I also love “Coney Island Baby.”

Today I feel like “cheap uptown dirt”. The attempted repair of my “new” computer failed miserably and I’m back to my slower buggy but still functioning old computer. Thanks to the repair man the files on my “new” and now dead, refurbished piece of computer poo were saved.

The really bad news is that I cannot use my big-ass monster printer until I can in the future find my way into a updated computer with XP. There goes half my Etsy shop.

Still I am thrilled this morning! I am listening to Street Hassle, a twisted folk music love song. See:

Waltzing matilda whipped out her wallet
The sexy boy smiled in dismay
She took out four twenties cause she liked round figures
Everybodys a queen for a day
Oh, babe, Im on fire and you know how I admire your –
– body why dont we slip away
Although Im sure youre certain, its a rarity me flirtin
Sha-la-la-la, this way

Oh, sha-la-la-la-la, sha-la-la-la-la
Hey, baby, come on, lets slip away

Luscious and gorgeous, oh what a hunk of muscle
Call out the national guard
She creamed in her jeans as he picked up her means
From off of the formica topped bar
And cascading slowly, he lifted her wholly
And boldly out of this world
And despite peoples derision
Proved to be more than diversion
Sha-la-la-la, later on

And then sha-la-la-la-la, he entered her slowly
And showed her where he was coming from
And then sha-la-la-la-la, he made love to her gently
It was like she’d never ever come
And then sha-la-la-la-la, sha-la-la-la-la
When the sun rose and he made to leave
You know, sha-la-la-la-la, sha-la-la-la-la
Neither one regretted a thing

Lordy! That’s just the first of three cycles of this Lou Reed piece. So very real and straightforward and poetic. There is violin, cello, wonderful bass lines, chick singers and frickin’ Bruce Springsteen testafying while Lou reads the world. What more could a fool request to get that feeling that heaven is promised and closer than we think.

Do rhetorical questions get question marks?

Leave a Reply

