I Quit My Job

Though my heart was pounding wildly and I felt that all the blood in my veins might evaporate in some mystical disintegration hoodoo, I kept shoving my things into my big black bag — my book of synonyms and antonyms, a map, tea bags, gum, suckers, a small mirror, tiny toy cars I’d found on the “free” table in the lunch room.

I’d already done the heavy removal the last time I was close to believing I couldn’t spend another minute trapped in a senseless power struggle with someone who knew nothing about me.

I tried in a number of ways to cure the bad blood but it only made things worse.

Yesterday, it became absolutely clear that my adversary, someone who prides themselves on their journalistic objectivity, is incapable of applying it in a managerial situation.

When I mention that they may not be seeing things clearly, they become extremely insulted, angry and in my opinion, irrational.

I think about it for a while, I feel the point of no return present itself. I say, uncle. Game over.

I refuse to sign the first “work improvement plan” because it is rife with prejudice and false portrayals.

“I’m not feeling well,” I say.

I sit the unsigned document and final mileage reimbursement sheetย  on the desk and walk out the door.I don’t look back.

At my desk I leave my little string of fairy lights glowing — red, amber, green and blue. We are light.

I am truly sorry for the hardship this brings upon the workers who remain but most of them already know the ship is sinking. The smart ones are planning their escape route.

6 Responses to “I Quit My Job”

  1. donigreenberg Says:

    My heart aches for you. I’m so sorry. Please know that there is life after that job and you will find your way to a better place. My thoughts are with you. xod

  2. Tons of moral support headed your way. TONS. You have so much talent and imagination, you won’t have to worry about money. Still, it’s a leap off a cliff, isn’t it? Keep writing. Stay in touch. Call. Everything is going to be all right. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Congratulations. I’m sure it was hard and you are probably worried about the next step, but everything happens for a reason. If you were stressed and hurting at work, with what sounds like a real nutjob of a boss, then you deserve to be free. Good luck on your future endeavours ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jenna

  4. Lauren Brooks Says:

    Hi Constance,
    I wish you the best of luck. Stay in touch, and let me know if you’re ever in my neck of the woods. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hang in there, Constance. And think hard before going the unemployment route when things were so stressful at work — and mad you sick. Might want to think about other routes for healing. Either way, things will get MUCH better.
    -Christy

  6. Hang in there–and be strong! More art in 2009!

Leave a Reply

