Rich Texture

When I think about how much time I now have to pull together my creative ideas it feels like a thick blanket of stars in warm night sky.

A sea of possibility, as Miss Patti Smith once said.

All the shiny things I’ve thought of bringing into the world may find their way into 3-D.  I just have to play my cards right, keep my eyes on the prize, and do the work.

I’m pretty dang good at doing the work. Frank says I’m the most industrious person he knows.

Etsy has made it possible for me to get my feet wet and as my creations continue to be called for, here and there in the first few months of this year, I am heartened and will continue to expand my galaxy.

It also gives me a great excuse to go to the thrift store.

owlduoI found these two lovely vintage owls yesterday. They are dreamy.

The white owl has two inscriptions carved into the bottom.

“Elna Roberts” and “made by Aretha, 1962”

As I stood in the funky little store, holding the owls, I fantasized that a young, black and gifted Aretha Franklin might be the creator.

Occasionally, I’m a fabulist but I never, never lie.

These are going into my shop.

whiteowlcloseeye1

Athena, Merlin and Harry Potter all grooved with the owl.

Creatures of the night, they see in darkness, they are able to pinpoint their prey and swoop in to scoop it up.

I want my focus on art projects to be that powerful.

Pinpoint creative vision on the objects of my imagination, have faith in my ability to manifest them gracefully, practice doing so, share them, those are the goals I hold in my heart.

yellowblueclearHere is the evening sky.

The blanket of stars is out there at this moment. It just hasn’t come fully into view.

Today is my last day perfecting the dragons. they’ll be boxed and shipped tomorrow.

I’ll miss them.

Leave a Reply

