Gnome Goes Out, Stooges Lose One

Anton Newcombe with shocking pink flowers.

Tempted, last week to buy a subscription to Mojo magazine, a music mag with the greatest photos ever and from all decades, I fought the urge.

I went to Barnes and Noble to check out the new issue and it was just what I wanted. I’d passed on a few in the last six months, trying to watch my spending and not being completely taken by the content. But this one I had to buy.

They are the best source for painting portraits of musicians. I could justify the subscription. It was $83 at Amazon that day. Now it’s up to $90. I pay $10 per mag at B and N.

If I need to check out the details of Arthur Lee’s face, in his prime, I know I can find source material in Mojo.

mojo309Eno, The Stooges, Nick Cave! Yes!

I dived into the Stooges article only to learn belatedly that Ron Asheton had passed away in January. Beside Iggy, he was my favorite Stooge.

Think about that guitar work, boys and girls, and wish Ron a speedy passage to the land of light. Let the tears flow.

The Nick Cave article is great. I learned that he had indeed had an affair with Miss Polly Jean Harvey. But he was far too self-destructive back then and she was far too set on her own self-preservation. Good girl.

I was so sleep deprived the day I bought it that I had to drop the mag halfway through the article and find out about Nick and P.J. the next day. Good gossip about people I don’t know is always worth waiting for.

I once bought a Vogue magazine, something completely against the grain of my common sense, just to see what Jen had to say about Angelina (hiss).

It wasn’t a very cool thing to do.

That’s a paraphrase of Jen’s laid back condemnation of Angie for stealing her husband.

Reading about her magnificent zenned-out Malibu beach-cleansed house made the purchase worth all the pennies I put up. It sounds yummy and green and huge.

If Brad would swap for Angelina he is a dumb ass. I remind you, readers, once again, they were not holding hands at the Academy Awards. Sweetheart partners tend to do that when they are genuinely excited and hopeful that their beloved will be recognized for the hard work they have done on a particular project.

Sean Penn and Robin Wright were true-heart pals.

brianenoboyAlso in Mojo, Brian Eno, here as a brilliant child, is a constant delight.

His brain is one of the sexiest on the planet.

I could watch a 12-hour bio pic of Eno in one sitting.

The dude from Coldplay, Gwenyth’s man, said in the studio (as producer) Eno is the Alpha male.

Eno has worked with Dave Bowie, David Byrne, and big ol’ U2 (hi, Rob Rogers!). David Byrne, Bono and Eno are all Tauruses. Chris Martin is a Pisces.

Brian Eno has made sublime music, art, thoughts, magic and he’s got a sense of humor which is plainly obvious in those 12-year-old eyes. You see.

Adventures in Vegetation

Yesterday, out on a short round of errands with my model gnome along, I decided to take a few photo of the happy gnome posing in the new crop of flowers at Home Depot.

Spring is beginning to show in certain places and it’s time for new gnome pix.

It felt very stealth, like I was doing something forbidden though, really,  I was not.

gnomeinorangeflowerdepotpotIt was difficult to find flowers close enough to the base on which the gnome would sit. Most of the blossoms were too high.

I found some lovely bell like flowers but they were in the shade and too near the check out counter.

Would it seem completely mad to ask permission next time?

“I’d like to take a few pictures of my gnome in your flower pots. Is that okay?”

The clerk would feel they have to call the manager. The manager would become paranoid about my real purpose — was I a corporate spy from a competeing entity? The manager would claim a need to get permission from his overlords.

“What would I be doing with these photographs,” he’d ask.

“Amuse myself,” I’d reply.

thinmagentatwigsathinmagentatwigsb

Leave a Reply

