Sketches

I have got to stop falling asleep at 9 p.m. I woke this morning at 4 a.m. and sort of just hung out in bed faking sleep. Finally got up at 4:30.

Even checking email that early is jumping the gun.

It’s never too early for the Rolling Stones. I’m listening to Their Satanic Majesty’s Request. It’s been dissed over the course of the last 40 years but I think it’s very interesting. “Citadel” and Bill Wyman’s charming “In Another Land” are my faves.

” Nobody else’s hand will ever do. Nobody else’s hand.”

I went to Barnes and Noble last week, borrowed a magazine and snapped a rad old photo of Brian Jones. I just propped the mag up on a rack in a lonely area and took a couple of pictures.

brianjonesmedclIt’s part of a birthday package for my daughter Jessica. She’ll get a sweet brown stuffed puppy too.

This picture has a couple of glare spots but its pretty good for stealth photography. The magazine cost $10. I wanted to buy the regular Mojo mag instead of their “classic” Led Zeppelin issue. Not that I don’t love Zep. Lord knows I do.

This day, I will start painting my Joey Ramone portrait. Here is the base sketch: joeycontrastSweet Jeffrey Hyman. I think I’ll try something new on the hair. Black lines and brown sections or dark brown lines and brown sections. Late in life he did have his hair dyed black.

Joey had round eyes, so sweet and sad, like that stuffed puppy, but he rocked it for reals.

I swear after this labor of love I am painting Arthur Lee !!!!! I’ve had the sketch on the board for months.

arthurcontrast

I think I’m at the point now where my creative carousel is on an even keel. I can get to a little bit or alot of everything.

I’ve had my sketch of Richard Manuel done for years. Well, looking at it now I think I need to change that left shoulder line.

richardmanuelcontrast

Today is also the day I make a block print, Lou Reed, for my friend Patti and stuff some catnip squid, too.

There’s a trip to the post office to mail a couple of Amazon items that will fatten up my dwindling bank account.

I’m shedding unnecessary possessions with the thought of future freedom, roaming and discovery. One has to travel light.

2 Responses to “Sketches”

  1. You have some lucky friends! Have you ever done one of Mike Ness? I guess that reveals my Socal roots, huh? Shedding possessions is good sometimes! I spent the day yesterday purging. I probably gave a good $300 (at garage sale prices) to the Goodwill, but my husband just wanted it gone. I also pulled back my sofa and found the horror of what my son had tossed there over the past few months while snacking. Gasp!

  2. Life is full of surprises even if they are found behind the couch.
    Dude, I am from SoCal, lived there my first 18 years. My friend Melodie (Fullerton, Anaheim) hung out a bit with Mike Ness way back in the day.
    He would be an interesting subject. I’ll put him on my list of Portrait Requests.
    I love love doing them.
    I may do a yard sale but I get that urge to just take it all away in one grand effort..

Leave a Reply

