Archive for July 6, 2009

Magenta Moment

Posted in constructions, etsy with tags , , , on July 6, 2009 by darcyarts

I love warm colors. I dyed my hair for a decade or two with permanent dies and henna. It was my first canvas. I played with all the shades but eventually settled on red. It fit my personality I told myself.

When my hair started turning gray I ignored it for a long time and then decided to leave behind the dye and grow it out.  I have been living with it happily for about five years but I am a restless soul.

This is an interesting time in my life. I am free of any corporate ties at the moment, living by my own hand as a crafts person. Now is the time to freak it up a bit.

I wanted to go farther with hair color than I have gone before. That’s where the Manic Panic came into this tale. I bought two jars — Cotton Candy Pink and Vampire Red — to highlight on the front sides of my hair .  I tried a little at first. It washed out really quickly. It was too noncommittal.

Now I’ve done my entire head.

MermaidHairAAm I worried about people finding this weird? Maybe a little but it’s just color and I love color. How many days have I left in this world? Quien sabe? I deserve more color.

There are few places in Redding to get richly colored things. One of them is the Beadman. I bought a load of new beads recently.

I’ve added a few more shade of oblong beads to my collection.

NewBeads 001I’m putting them together as earrings in trios by colors that I think look right together. I’ve started with three pieces on each earring but I may try more, for a sort of 60s satellite look.

As I mentioned previously, I dreamed of these type of earrings. Just simple dangles with frosted beads but I’ve added clear colors to the design, too.

NewBeads 004

I guess it was more of a vision than a dream. there was no narrative action just the earrings.

I’ll take the inspiration and go with it, I told myself.

We’ll see what happens.

I have these pink and red dangle earrings in my Etsy shop.

I’ve added the yellow, green, red dangle earrings, too.