Rejection, Good for the Soul

MorningWindow

It is with a little sadness that I received my rejection letter from Bazaar Bizarre. Not this year, baby.

There was an inner nod of recognition.

No, I’m not ready to expose myself to that level of competition. Yes, I do have plenty refining to do.

When I check out inspirational makers like Heather Louise Bennett at The Doll Farm or Amy Abshier-Reyes at The Brilliant Magpie I can feel just how far I have to go before I get anywhere close to that magic “there.”

Everybody knows of the uber togetherness of Emily Martin at The Black Apple. Don’t they?

These girls make me happy.

BugEyedBlueDog

At the same time I am crushed with envy and saggy with the weight of work remaining before I happen on to my own unified field theory.


fractal illustration from abstract digital art gallery

Hope springs eternal in the human breast;
Man never Is, but always To be blest:
The soul, uneasy and confin’d from home,
Rests and expatiates in a life to come.

-Alexander Pope,
An Essay on Man, Epistle I, 1733

Leave a Reply

