Stitching and Dreaming

Few projects are without moments of frustration, says the Yod.

Night goggles sewing image from http://blog.makezine.com

At the end of my work day Saturday the bobbin in my first, and new,  sewing machine kept getting hung up. I gingerly removed the screws from the bobbin case cover, fearing this operation. I removed the plates and then the lint balls that seemed really unhealthy. I put the cover back on. I hadn’t seen any tricky parts. I wasn’t concerned about putting it back incorrectly.

Sunday I still couldn’t undo the snag and after four additional tries to make sure the cover was on right I faced the fact that I must buy a new machine. I am on a tight schedule. The costumed chimps must be out by Oct. 9.

JoAnn’s had a nice, reasonably priced Singer. I got it home, the whole time fretting about the hours I was losing.

I took it out of the package, popped the “quick start” dvd into the player near the work station and set the thing up. When I went to check the booklet to clarify something about the stitch selection dial I noticed the back page looked like someone had used it as a placemat for a dessert of pumpkin pie.

The first few pages were stuck together by some barely visible substance.

Then I noticed that the accessory bag was open, the little package of replacement needles were opened. Some of the needles were gone. I found them in the storage drawer in the machine.

Was I going to keep this machine?

I’d tried a test stitch while fiddling with the dials. It was nice. The stitch mechanism moved smoothly and felt substantial. It had more of a deep steady growl than my Brother machine but it seemed to mean muscle and I liked it.

No. I was not going to pay full price for the machine that was obviously used by some slovenly, dishonest pumpkin pie addict somewhere Shasta County.

I repackaged the machine and returned it to Joann’s. I came home and spent the rest of the day and evening doing my hand sewing tasks — securing thighs and knees and calves onto Chimp torsos. I fell into bed about 8 p.m. after a 13 hour work day.

I’ll check Hokemas today but will probably also check Wal Mart. It’s just a little bump in the road.

Thursday, after the Costumed Chimps are in the mail I’m going to see Whip It.

I dreamed of a spritely Brian Eno spirit last night. Nice compensation.

2 Responses to “Stitching and Dreaming”

  1. You’re welcome to use my portable Brother machine. Say the word.

  2. Thanks, Miss Kelly. I bought an inexpensive Singer and so far so good. I’ve got two Zombie Chimps done, two Werewolf Chimps nearly done.

Leave a Reply

