Sleepy Hallow

Habits form so quickly. For the last few weeks I have been sleeping in.

I’m not getting on the fake bike until 8 a.m. No more 6 a.m. fake rides in the dark. The holidays brought a sense of calm and guilt free lazing but I must get in gear for new year.

I love the way things look just before the sun comes up. It’s quiet and I can be still, collect my thoughts.

I’m up at 6 a.m. this morning. I’ve lighted my votive candles to remind me of my connection to the starry dynamo.

This is a beautiful star lamp I got for 50 cents. It is a morning friend, barely bright, soft on the eyes, soothing.

Note:  Jane Campion’s Bright Star will be in at Netflix January 26. If you missed it in the theater put it on your list now. It is a pleasure. It’s a good view of what people did before television.

Crafty Etsy girls and tender newbie seamstresses, this film is for you.

After I’ve lit the candles I check into the cyber world and see if anyone purchased my wares. Will my day include stitching a catnip squid, a new whale?

That would mean a trip to the post office at some point in the day.

I start to imagine how I will utilize my energy.

I climb on the bike and have 10 miles in before I know it. My iPod is my faithful companion in exercise. I could not do it without the right music.

Queens of the Stone Age are the best. Josh Homme’s music is very inspiring. I have very eclectic taste. I often start slow and turn to the harder stuff (QOTSA) when I need a push toward mile six.

Today I started with This American Life, then moved on to Johnny Mercer and then Charles Mingus, then for the finish, QOTSA. It was great.

Yesterday I finished my first rag doll. She’s nakee in the first early morning pix but I plan to make clothes for her.

I love her. I don’t think it will be easy offer these up for the Etsy shop. I’ll want to keep each one I create.I’m already working on a second face.

I love faces. This is fun.

Leave a Reply

