Dressed

My first of my emergent rag dolls has been clothed. She’s looking sorta sweet-punky and a bit French. That old-style sailor aesthetic.

I am loving this new thing most especially because I can use the abundance of materials I have collected over the last year as I was finding my way through the crafty/etsy maze.

I am stoked to the 10th power.

I have cut pieces for rag dolls in many skinish shade, today even adding a nice turquoise blue.

Everyday leads to the discovery of some other material to incorporate but simplicity rules.

Today I sew the finished head of my chocolate doll onto her body. She already has a pink fuzzy skirt and polka dot shirt.

She looks a little like a Gumby chick here in her unjoined state. Her hair rocks.

I gave her heart eye backs.

Unless the material is uber stretchy I must put the blouse on before the head. We’ll see how that goes.

I am using vintage buttons for eyes because I like the look and because I found bags of them at Discovery Shop during one of their craft/sewing sales.

Really, this utilization of my mounds of stuff and other peoples mounds of discarded stuff just thrills me. I’m lit up like a Christmas tree. My new year is off to a fabulous start.

I’m making glitter glam rag dolls soon. I cut stars to fit behind the abalone button eyes. I’ll add glitter to her and if possible platform boots.  Bowie mullets are a must!♥♥♥

I make stamps out of eraser material and many of them are small. I decided to try a few on tiny T-shirts I’m making for the dolls.

This is an Edie Sedgewick stamp. I tried in on black and wasn’t happy with the visibility so I am going to outline it in red embroidery thread.

Yes! I am using the bags of embroidery thread I’ve nabbed at All Saints thrift store.

The mountain of yarn is great for hair and I’m sure I will happen on to the best and easiest way to create hair dos.

This is only a fraction of the yarn I bought (see the stamps in my printers box on the left).

I made a special trip to the Discovery Shop sale last year and dragged home two enormous bags full.

I am trying to curb my proclivity for consumption. Hey, I am recycling. If I don’t use what someone else didn’t use I can always list as supplies on Etsy but you’re looking at hair here.

I know that we all have dreams and that the thrift stores are filled with things that  crafty people didn’t live long enough to use, but, dude, I am burning with a desire to populate the world with rag dolls.

Bless me, beings of light, with the energy to see them safely in to the arms of somebody who will love them.

Leave a Reply

