Tangible Tiny Women Artists

Making dolls in a simple Americana, rag doll form is very satisfying. I love to see the amazing art dolls that creative makers pull out of themselves but the uber realistic things kind of freak me out.

I want to keep it simple, simple, simple. I  am still very excited by how well the dolls are  utilizing all the materials I have collected and exercising all  my of my creative impulses.

Over time, in addition to a series of Fridas, necessary to capture all her glory, I am going to do a series of women artists. Georgia O’keeffe, Yayoi Kusama, just a quick google check of  “women in art” reveals a wealth of wonderful artists who would look great as small dolls. I want to make something tangible, something to hold and be reminded of the many women that worked as artists. We rarely hear of most of them.

I’ll let you all know when I get Frida up on Etsy.

One Response to “Tangible Tiny Women Artists”

  1. Heheh this is a great idea! I love your Frida! Check out my women surrealists, there’s loads to choose from (probably none instantly ecognisable as Kahlo though). Good work!
    regards
    Lynda from echostains and also bookstains

Leave a Reply

