Too Early Crazy

Up way too early to day. I’ll be dragging later and I have tons of errands to attend but I need my quiet time.

You’d think getting up at 5:30 a.m. would do the trick but not so that last two mornings. There were responsibilities to attend to the minute I opened my eyes.

This morning 4:15 sounds perfectly good for rising.

This is a photograph of a folk art, hand cut and carved bearded man. He is surrounded by punch stars. There are two types of leaves carved into the outer frame section and a banner below the portrait that reads “The Light of the World.”

I call him DeWayne Jesus. I think it’s supposed to be that Jesus. You know who I’m talking about. Don’t you hate it when you’re kinda out there and you think up some really good stuff and then, like after lots of years, people get it all twisted and use really messed up versions of your good ideas to do really crappy things?

When you look at the whole piece it really looks like Lynda Barry’s work. Here’s a cool article about books that are art and comics focused from Salon.com.

This picture of a very young and cool Lynda Barry is from Alan Blangy. Great stuff in his ” My brush with Lynda Barry”.

Barry has been an inspiration to me since I found her work while living in Seattle in the early 80s.  I have all her books because she is for reals and manages to be so honest, is determined to make art from life even when it sucks and she makes you feel good about yourself, too.

Want to see my world’s smallest dried chili?

Leave a Reply

