Slow for Reading

I am working. Even though I am my own boss I stay focused. In fact I probably need to chill just a little bit in the pilgrimish work ethic department. I never let myself sit around and watch a film or read a book when I am committed to a project. I should be creating.

There are books that once they get their hooks in me I’m done. Daniel Pinchbeck’s Breaking Open the Head: A Psychedelic Journey into the Heart of Contemporary Shamanism is the most interesting book I’ve read in a long time.

I am very interested in the relationship between outer organic substance, spirit energies and the human mind and physiognomy.

I have envisioned funky places I call comfort stations existing in the future, after we have moved away from corporate pharmaceutical solutions to our angst and have turned to a more permanent wholistic, spirit-oriented cures.

There are probably places like this now, somewhere out there.

But wouldn’t it be swell to just stop in for a day to cleanse your third eye from time to time? Little doses to expand our consciousness, to remind us that everything is everything, to instill in us the proper respect for the earth, the stars and one another?

Read a bit of a food diary Pinchbeck did for NYMag.com

3 Responses to “Slow for Reading”

  1. Some of these foods sound really yummy indeed! I am a meat eater, and I also love vegetarian food – enjoy it very much. I have gradually cut back on my meat intake as I have got older. I shall have to look into Pinchbeck – thanks for sharing Darcy!

  2. Most vegetable proteins are hard for me to digest so I eat a lot of fish and chicken. I wish I could subsist on avocados, tortilla chips and dried cherry scones.

  3. […] got back into bed after driving Frank to school, picked up Breaking Open the Head and set about finishing the last few chapters. There were a couple of very interesting things […]

Leave a Reply

