Parsley Recipes?

Last year at the end of spring I picked up a couple plants marked cilantro. They were not cilantro which I love but parsley. This season the parsley, along with my catnip (yea!) is back.

I do not know what to do with it.

I took a quick look at recipes on the net. I got excited by the idea of parsley pesto but then realized that recipe used Italian parsley. I have the regular tough, strong flavored parsley.

I could put it in mashed potatoes but that would ruin the potatoes for me. They are fine all by themselves.

Soups, stews, and salads. Okay, but you need so little.

Greek shrimp and pasta calls for parsley, I’ve read, but just knowing I would prefer the taste of cilantro to parsley in any of the recipes causes me frustration.

Does anyone out there know of a good recipe that somehow makes the most of the flavor of parsley?

I guess I could dry it and just sprinkle a bit in things.


4 Responses to “Parsley Recipes?”

  1. Well they do sing ‘parsley sage rosemary and thyme’ so perhaps they all go together. I wonder if you could add the dry into a pastry or sprinkle it along with other herbs and garlic onto a filo oblong and top with cheese?

  2. Yumm. Yes, it would be nice with some kind of cheesy bread or pastry.
    I have filo and lots of garlic on hand.
    Thanks!

  3. Iris Sanders Says:

    I use parsley by the bunch in many different way, salads and soups are favorite. I used to make parsley sandwiches, you have to like the taste of parsley. I would chop parsley finely, mix in mayonaise, lemon juice and garlic, then spread on good bread with sliced cucumbers and or anything else you might like. They are delicious!

  4. Iris that sounds delicious, a great summer meal! I’m going to try it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

