Eat, Pray, Love

I have my prejudices, brainwashed as I am by the ever lingering idea of an outsider life, a rock n roll aesthetic.

I picked up a copy of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love knowing it was a memoir that involved travel to three places I’d love to experience.

Other than that I thought it might be a little lame and Oprahish. Not that Oprah is bad, or has poor taste but anything that millions of people want to read strikes the rebel tone in me and I avoid it.

I guess I believe somewhere in my not too deep thought that if it can please that many people all the spicy sauce must have been eliminated at it’s creation.

I will admit I formed this anti-Oprah book stance without the benefit of having read any of her touted selections. Bad me.

Eat, Pray, Love is not an Oprah book. Or is it? Gilbert’s new memoir Committed is featured in O magazine. I must avoid reading this until I finish EPL.

I have found Gilbert very likable and the things she has to say are very  interesting. She allows us to see her quirks and is not ashamed of being a very emotional person. Some of us are by nature are effusive, in possession of big appetites and prone to want to work out every detail until things are perfect even though we know “perfect” is a false concept.

This read is very pleasurable. Gilbert delivers.

We are in India now, at an ashram, long term and there is a destinct absence of perfection in the efforts made by Gilbert to see the light. That’s why she is so appealing. She whines and fumbles and longs for past lovers all the while functioning brilliantly as a thinker, a writer and a soul struggling to gain balance.

It’s just very cool.

A quick trip to www.elizabethgilbert.com reveals lots of material that I look  forward to reading. I’ll save a really thorough investigation for another time. I could spend alot of  bucks over at Amazon but I’ve pledged to cool it for a while. I’ll keep my eyes peeled when I next visit the Discovery Shop. Whoohoo. Good reading.

Leave a Reply

