Faces, Nearly There

Last week was dedicated to embroidering facial details for the three Soft Boys I’m working up.

They are: a Whip It era Devo doll, Mark Mothersbaugh is the model; Iggy Pop and Mick Jagger.

Fellow Etsian, myneedlehabit, wrote a while back to let me know that Mick’s eyes are blue, so here he is with blue eyes.

I got Iggy’s lip outline to include that Elvis-like raised lip toothy smile he has. The boy has choppers!

I think it’s actually a feature of his more mature mouth but that is what is stuck in my head and therefore comes out when I do Iggy.

This Iggy picture is from AceShowBiz.

I took photos of the Whip It video to get the sample shots for the Mothersbaugh Devo doll. Still have to make the energy dome. If I can cut the material I’ll be fine.

The bodies are sewn and stuffed.

I couldn’t resist giving the Iggy bod a little man lump. I suppose I should do the same for Mick but I might skip it just to be bratty and faux punish the strutting, cocksure Mick.

I will once again leave him bare-chested with nipples. He’ll have silver pants and a homemade dog collar.

The Whip It Devo doll bod is dressed in black turtleneck and black shorts and shoes.

My Micks are currently sporting a sort of casual French sailor (circa very early 20th Century Coco Channel) outfit.I wanted to avoid the obvious Mick sartorial clichés.

Staying organized is so very important for me to be able to work. I’m one of those people who need every room in the house straightened and relatively tidy before I can do a lick of work. You might think this is a technique of avoidance but it is not. I love this work. ♥

Part of staying organized is to have needed materials on hand. Whatever the goods, while shopping for supplies, I am always seduced my the range of color of any particular item. Embroidery thread comes in so many colors and it it very inexpensive.

I can usually find little packets at my favorite thrift store but I’ll visit the JoAnn store when I need a really specific color I don’t have. I think I’m good for awhile.

Button eyes are a bit difficult. For some reason there is a short supply of blue buttons. I robbed  one of my cotton jackets of its blue buttons for my Iggy doll. Enough for two dolls, I am now out of them. They were the perfect size.

It’s nice to have a specific shopping list, now, while browsing thrift stores. Blue buttons, embroidery thread, flashing material for Ziggy outfits, simple striped jersey shirts for small Mick shirts, stripey tights and scarves  for other dolls. 

Having a purpose makes it a new experience. Recycle, reuse. It’s good.

Leave a Reply

