He’s Probably Not the One, Kat

OMG! Kat von D said she thinks Jesse James is the “One.”  Yeah, the one that will cheat on you, too. I don’t think Kat really cares. She’s pretty motivated to keep  things temporary.

The Huffington Post has big photos of the pair at the opening of  Kat’s Wonderland Gallery. Von D’s new enterprise is an art and body art gallery adjacent to her tattoo shop.

I think art comes first for KvD and that may be a good thing. I think she has roamed the planet as a male in most of her past lives and this girl thing is sorta weird for her. She is looking more and more like a drag queen. I’m not saying that is a bad thing. I’m a drag admirer and everything past the naked skin is drag, anyway. 

It seems obvious that her idea of “woman” hangs on the ideal of a painted glamour  that requires plenty of manipulation. It’s all good but who are you when you don’t have the energy to do the full on geisha get up? Do you like that girl, Kat? Would Jesse James like her?

http://www.wonderlandla.com is the online name and address of Kat’s gallery because Wonderland Gallery already exists as some mega-corporate looking art enterprise. It’s pretty scary looking uber-modernish over the couch art online art dealership.

Kat probably should have checked google before using that name but I can relate to such mistakes. Etsy let me choose the name DarcyArts even though they have Dizenzo Design out of Brooklyn selling as Darcyart.

And then there is Dame Darcy, lovely dollmaker, artist, musician. The very girl who originally inspired me to think about making dolls when I caught her in action on Crafters Coast to Coast. Dame Darcy has an Etsy shop, too.

I know I’ve been really bitchy about LA Ink lately but, dude, they asked for it.  The transgression against those of us who watched early and devotedly have been named here in this blog ad nauseam.

I’m a little confused by their programming strategy of showing an older episode before the new episode. The older episodes were all about the art, the skill, the human interest of the story behind the tattoos.

Are they testing the ratings of the old programs? The older episodes didn’t make me flinch. I didn’t watch them while filled with bad feelings, aggravation and angst. But still I watch. I hate the tacky cheap drama but I want to watch alterna-peeps. I do not identify with mild nerdology ala The Office. I do not flow with Friday Night Lights. I do not love the foibles of housewives, New Jersey, Orange County or Desperate. LA Ink began with real artists and real people without any of the bullshit of extreme reality TV. I want to go back to there.

As alterna goes I tried to love the L Word. I loved Shane and, anything with Leisha Haley, Pam Grier or Dallas Roberts is really good in my estimation, but once again, the tacky soap opera shit got real old. When writers make characters do things that don’t fit their essence that irritates me. After a while it felt like nothing more than a long, exploitative yet sexy, lingerie ad all too often starring the wanna-be subversive Jenny Schecter. Eeww.

I tried not to get hung up but Queer As Folk was the unspoken value to match and The L Word just got too too carried away with itself. It felt like they only sketched out the characters and then forgot that vague form the farther out in time they traveled. If characters grew they were demoted/divorced from what they had learned to serve the plot of the moment. Well crafted, the L Word was not.

 Maybe everyone was just too perfect and lived in too high-rent a set up for me. The writers did not convincingly sell me  the L world. Constructive criticism, folks. Love your characters enough to ground them in a solid sense of self.

Vince Gilligan and crew are the masters. Emmy voters, are you listening? Next year.

Leave a Reply

