Robyn Hitchcock Art

I dreamed of hanging out with Robyn Hitchcock the other night. We were in a very nice space, large rooms and curved areas as opposed to linear flat squares in the architecture. I felt very comfortable with Robyn. We seemed to be very comfortable friends. I was buying a print from him. I asked him to remind me that I owed him for the last print as well, then a total of $40, or $20 for each print.

The new print was a very cool drawing of three figures two were semi-ghostly and one was more solid and seemed to have a sober, serious demeanor. The eyes were dark and a little sad. The figures were rendered in sepia ink or watercolor. The print measure about 18″ x 24″. I was very happy with the print, happy to have it.

This morning, an email from the Museum of Robyn Hitchcock led me to the site where I found Robyn’s art. There are many images of ghostly figures.

Here is a lovely image from Hitchcock’s site.

There are a few of his father, Raymond Hitchcock’s, paintings there as well. Raymond was an author, too. He wrote many books including one titled Venus Thirteen. Aha.

Robyn Hitchcock and the Venus Three have a new album –Propellor Time. I am listening to samples right this very minute.

I love Robyn. I was seized by him the very first time I saw him. It was on the great concert show, Reverb. He, dressed in his black and white polka dot shirt, was performing Freeze, so magnetic and odd and sexy it was. I was astounded by him. He was big and delicate at the same time. I was mesmerized by the way he sort of sprung or flung his fingers onto the fret board to play the notes like a praying mantis attack. I loved the way he moved his head and shook his silver hair out of his eyes. I loved the  broken string, thin and silvery, dangling from the tuning peg, sparkling in the stage lights. Chimera, child.

Yip Yip Yip Yip Yip Yip!

One Response to “Robyn Hitchcock Art”

  1. Hiya,
    found my way here from the museum of Hitchcock……………hope you are well,I wonder if you can help,i am looking to buy a print of Robyns but cant find anywhere to do this as there is no contact at the museum……….any ideas ?
    cheers,
    Dean

Leave a Reply

