In the Middle

There are signs that I may have fallen down the rabbit hole of holiday sales season 2010. It’s a rush and at the same time that it is just a little bit frightening.

I am well into fulfilling an order for 11 big double chocolate donuts and I’ve got a Stevie Wonder doll to start.

Will the velocity of sales at the DarcyArts shop increase?

Will it be a gas, gas, gas, cranking out my little lovelies for all the fans of DarcyArts? Yes, it will.

I think I’ve got the hang of spreading my energies evenly over all the tasks at hand. It’s freedom of movement  that comes from employing the carousel method of creation. I ride a different painted pony every few hours.  I switch it up — sew, cut, stitch, stretch. When my eyes need to stretch their vision to a far horizon I’ll run an errand. Get myself  to the health food store, JoAnn store for more stuffing, or check the thrift stores for the things on my list. 

Then back to work. After the morning  NPR programs are finished I’ll turn on the sweet trashy Bravo TV shows or HGTV as background noise. I look up occasionally to see whats going on but keep my eyes on the project at hand.

When I need a little outside energy I’ll have another cup of tea and play some good music to push me through — Josh Homme’s Queens of the Stone Age, some good old Rolling Stones, Brian Jonestown Massacre, Love, Robyn Hitchcock, Iggy Pop.

I’ve been slowed a bit by a virus my honey and I picked up  last week. My immune system is doing its job of kicking its ass. I have not been really down with it. At first it felt like I was being invaded by a load of tiny aliens but I’ve been able to work plenty and sleep plenty.

I’m still up early, before the sun shines, Checking for orders, setting up my work for the day. I get my materials ready, have a glass of tea, and this week, eat way too much carrot cake.

Things are rolling along. I am so happy to be working at producing things that I dreamed up, so pleased that I finally managed to make something out of nothing. February 2, 2011 will be the second anniversary of quitting my day job.

I feel good about the things I do. I have an open mind. I’m learning all the time and I am making people happy.

No more sour apples.

Leave a Reply

