Reflections of Light

The Discovery shop is always full of very nice things. on my last visit I could not leave the store without this beautiful wreath.

It adds light on a wall that gets none.

This old house was built to avoid having Redding’s summer sun beat in any of the windows. The living room is especially shaded.

Mirrors are strategically placed to catch and reflect light.

They can be found all over town in the sweet little thrift shops.

Thanks to all the wonderful volunteers that do such a good job running my three favorite second hand stores — Discovery Shop, the All Saints thrift store and The Attic.

I’m off to the work space soon but thought I would share a few pis of our nest as we jive it up for Xmas (remember Christians, in Greek X = Christ).

It’s nice to have some extra holiday sparkle while I’m stitching what will be other’s gifts to give.

This small tree was a Discovery Shop find a few years back. Why kill a tree when you can pick up a cute fake so easily?

I do miss the smell of the bows but the last few trees I bought were long past being fragrant. We may do big trees again when grandchildren come.

This little lighted church was an All Saints find as I recall.

So cute, eh? The little trees light up. The light pole will to when I set it on a solid base after inserting a little stringed Christmas light. I’ll get there.

Still hoping I have enough energy to get myself down to the De Young to catch the once in my lifetime chance to see the works of some my favorite artists. Maybe right after Christmas.

Maybe right before if daughter, Jess can come back for the holiday but I’m not getting my heart set on that possibility.

The light wreath brightens up the music wall. Maybe when I’m in SF I’m make to Amoeba for a few more vinyl treasures. Last time there I bought a fresh copy of Incredible String Band’s first, the Velvet Underground’s third and Lullabies to Paralyze by Queens of the Stone Age.

Jess gave me the Girls album Album. That was super cool gift last year.

If I was loaded with cash I’d rent a truck and haul off half of Amoeba’s inventory.

You can see the Incredible String Band LP in the picture of Jessica’s typewriter candle art piece. I love this artwork. It reminds me of Allen Ginsberg. Someday Jessica will blow minds on a mass scale with her work.

Son Brian will, too. I feel great things coming. Good minds and hearts will be valued.

Did anyone see James Franco on the Actor’s Studio last night? That young man is a maniac. Lust for Life.

Okay, enough decor for one day. Off to work.

May happy holiday vibes infect you and may we all be, at least occasionally, as deliriously driven as James Franco.

One Response to “Reflections of Light”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Leilani, Constance Dillon. Constance Dillon said: Reflections of Light: http://wp.me/pcde5-1BU […]

Leave a Reply

