Toward the New Year

After finishing a last-minute Big Pink Sprinkle Kawaii style Donut order Saturday I’ve had time to rest and relax. I’m starting to feel like myself once again. For a while there I felt as if I was being sucked into a vortex of stitchery. I could see nothing else.

I reset my game, got organized, and actually had time to reflect on my handicraft. I felt pretty good about all the creations I’ve sent out into the world this season and said my little prayers that they arrived safely, on time and have found their way  into loving lives. ♥

The days ahead will find me enjoying the holidays.  This week as dear ones gather we will have delicious chili verde and fresh tortillas on the menu, sirloin-based beef stew, sharp cheddar cheese and homemade biscuits and lots of naughty sweets.

I’ll be making Soft Boys and soaking up cinema as I look forward to the high of the awards season.

In January the Golden Globes will be broadcast on the 16th, the Screen Actors’ Guild awards, the 30th.

The Academy Awards will be February 27th.

The Social Network, The Fighter, Black Swan, The King’s Speech and The Kids Are Alright, are the top of the list for Best Picture. The Academy Award nominees will be announced Jan. 25th.

I like that list a lot but must admit to having a bit of dread about seeing Black Swan. A sexual psychodrama revolving around ballet and all its dysmorphic junk strikes me as a little creepy.

The Kid’s Are Alright was pretty cute. I love Mark Ruffalo and Julianne Moore whose character dressed a lot like I do.

The Social Network was really a very entertaining rocket ride. Jesse Eisenberg was captivating. Once again, I gotta bow down to Justin Timberlake’s talent.

I cannot wait to see the magnificent Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush in The King’s Speech.

It will be good to see Helena Bonham Carter outside her Bellatrix drag. Could she be distantly related to Led Zeppelin’s mighty drummer?

I do not like to see men hitting one another in the face for cash and I suffer from post-traumatic Trip-to-Boston syndrome but the actors in The Fighter are too good to miss.  Melissa Leo is grand, Amy Adams, too and Mark Wahlberg always rocks it.  Frank (4.0 once again this semester) and I will travel down to Anderson Prime 11, our number two pleasure palace, and see this flick this week.

This morning a trip into the kitchen work space revealed that my picture of Robyn Hitchcock had fallen off the window. I’ll take that as a sign that Robyn needs to be included in my next batch of rock dolls.

Yes, I see Brian Eno gazing over at us. I’m ready. Soon, Brian, soon.

I’m thinking of pairs — Brian Eno and Bryan Ferry.

Sets and mini sets of film-related dolls — The Royal Tenenbaums (thanks, Jordan) which might include a Wes Anderson doll. Making that happen would bring me back to a request that actually got me started on Etsy. A young man blew my mind by telling me he loved my painted portraits. Then he asked if I’d ever paint directors.

I was sorta sucked away from painting (but will return!) but I do think of the Soft Boys and Soft Girls as portrait/ memorial dolls. They are my mid-century inspired, secular retablos or laminas.

The dolls have put my hand back into portraiture and they will happily lead me back into painting. I want to paint portraits of the dolls. It’s a little loony but my process is my own.

2 Responses to “Toward the New Year”

  1. Where did you find that Brian Eno picture? I’ve never seen it before! Beautifully illuminated by the candle (?)

Leave a Reply

