Buckets to Box

True confessions — I cannot work well with loud noises or with obvious home projects undone. I need quiet, except for music or the soft bland visial hum of the home and garden channel and order.

Friday morning there was lots of noise and plenty of really efficient doing away with a tall pine.  The landlords decided to cut down an old pine tree in the front yard because it was leaning towards the long driveway which allows folks in the small cottages behind our house to exit the premises. Those workmen knew what they were doing.

Does the center of this trunk look healthy?

They had the stump removed and the thinner sections of branch consumed by the chipper all within four hours.

Saturday a woman (yes! Go girls.) came by and took her chain saw to the leavings. She hauled away three or four truck loads of  now newly cut firewood.

Still that meant Saturday was a noise fest and pretty much right outside the window of my cozy kitchen work space.

I took the opportunity late Friday and early Saturday to quickly finish my veggie  table conversion project.

After three years of service our collection of blue buckets have turned really brittle and ugly. Wouldn’t you after being baked by the sun that long? I’m sure the sight drove my dear landlady crazy and the sight was starting to get to me.

This squash was tossed into an old bucket,  the top half of which had busted off all around, leaving the jagged edge. Sometimes I’d wrap the edges in silve duct tape. So, so classy.

They were once new and fresh. You can see the rectanglar box I used in this transformation beneath the freshly planted buckets in 2008.

 I nailed on some extra boards and closed up the box I scavenged/recycled years ago, flipped it over and turned it into a planter.

It’s much neater, less distracting.

I should probably bring this streamlined sensibility to the rest of our dream studio but that will be a slow process.

The box is mostly filled with catnip which I grow organically and use in my plushy squid catnip toys.

I’ll add tomatoes. I’m hoping the seeds from the delicious black tomatoes grown in friends Kevin and David’s garden last season will come into being for us.

They are the yummiest!

Okay. The noisy distraction is done and I must turn my attention to my soft sculpture work — 4 girl portrait dolls and a rainbow curly star. So much good handy craft to keep me busy, busy, busy.

In down time, if my eyes aren’t too tired I am reading  Posthumous Keats.

Thanks, Jane Campion. Your Bright Star brought me to Keats.

One Response to “Buckets to Box”

  1. The yellow flowers and blue bucket and green leaves make nice mixture in the 4th picture.

Leave a Reply

