Homemade Journal


Even though I write this blog and tell tales of my doings I must have a paper journal in which I confess my sad and silliest thoughts.

I had halfway convinced myself to cough up the dough for a fancy store-bought leather bound  journal from Barnes and Noble but my rebellious, DIY-or-bust spirit kicked in and I pledged to make my own.

First I folded and drilled holes in the paper pages, stitched them tightly. Then I stitched the leather pieces together.

Lastly, I glued the leather to the cardboard cover pages and left them pressed under my heaviest dictionary fore 24 hours.

Viola.

It was easy and clean. I used material from an old coat from the 60s or 70s that I bought years ago at The Attic for a couple of bucks.

I was feeling these colors and looking forward to the feel of the leather whenever I use the book.

I’ve nearly filled my last paper journal with the weave of joy, love and occasional concerns that make up my days.

~~~~~~~

I’m hoping to make mushroom tops out of that cute pink and brown polka dot cloth. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

