Sun in Virgo

I love the Sun’s yearly trip through Virgo. It gives me extra energy and drive to clean the nooks and crannies, to clear the decks.

The Sun passing through Virgo may drive the garbage collectors a little mad. I imagine trashed items are popping out of waste containers all over town.

We are preparing for a warm house full of welcome visitors. My son is already here and my daughter will soon will be. That has added to my desire to tidy up the elements of home.

These pix were  taken in morning light with the aid of a tripod and a longer exposure. It is a very dark room after the scant morning light has traveled west.

Styling isn’t too snazzy. This room is a rectangle with a fireplace and the front door at one end, a wall of windows on the east side, and west wall, with the stereo, is aligned with the walking space to the rest of the house.  The furniture has to be placed in a space in the middle of the room between and closer to the windows on the east wall.

Through most of the day this room is rather dark. Though we resisted putting a video screen in this room for years (less temptation to veg out when one could be working ) we’ve given in and made this a media room. We can watch documentaries, Breaking Bad repeats or Akira Kurosawa movies in the middle of the day. That is my next pleasure-based goal. A private and lengthy Akira Kurosawa film festival. The Criterion Collection has 25 Kurosawa films!

Everything needs to be about function and flow. I need to  be able to move from one thing for another, to switch hats from artist/maker to caretaker, from blogger to film fanatic. Working at home, I must address multiple projects and responsibilities everyday.Life has taught me to be flexible. I am lucky to be able to take small bits of time for myself in the midst of all the demands.

Leave a Reply

