Fork in the Road?

My last fresh post here at DarcyArts was Nov. 3, 2011. The topic was death. I had been so pleased, after decades of reading up on life after death and NDEs, to hear that Steve Jobs last words were “Oh, wow! Oh, wow! Oh, wow!”

I could well imagine the awesome passage he was entering at that moment. Throughout history men and women have experienced spiritual journeys that have enabled them at times to see glimpses of the other world. We have a hunger for those altered states. There are many paths.

This blog is a record of my journey through discovering my own creative abilities. I have occasionally flashed back on elements of my life. I have shared lasting and momentary fascinations. My lapse in posting here has not been due to a lack of interest but rather a very real reduction in my energy level.

Over the course of the last three years, I have been running my Etsy shop, making things, and writing here, I noticed a slow decline. What I attributed to asthma and arthritis, or just getting old has turned out to be the dreaded big  “C.” It took nearly a year to get to get a diagnosis but, finally, last November the word was in.

I’ve had plenty of time to adjust to having my mind far outpace my body. I can think of so many things to do but I can’t physically do them. Very aggravating for an Aries with Gemini rising.

After much reflection I decided that I did not want DarcyArts to become a cancer blog. One can write about cancer when one regains strength. We can recall our misery, the heavy weight of going through chemo, but dude, if I regain some good amount of strength after chemo (last round in two weeks) I want to write about life. I suspect I’ve been living with cancer for years. With or without cancer, I know that I need to bask in the holy carnality of ever single second I have left to breathe and marvel at this journey of ours.

Once again, I hear Allen Ginsberg chanting.

I want to go to the ocean. I want to go the rest of my way here on earth with grace and love and patience. When I slip over I want to be able exclaim ” oh, wow!”

3 Responses to “Fork in the Road?”

  1. skipmurphy Says:

    I miss your posts about your craft. Now I read your very cells were busy being creative with their own DNA. Holy carnality, DarcyArts! Be well.

  2. Oh man. Not cancer!
    Words fail, other than to say I’m so profoundly sorry.
    Please know that I’ll keep you in my thoughts with hopes of a complete recovery.
    Keep the faith. You have many friends and fans cheering for you.
    xodoni

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

