Knit Vegetables

Some crafty people enjoy making vegetables out of yarn. An homage to our agrarian past?

knittedvega17These are from an 80s how-to sewing book I found at one of my fave thrift shop.

I think it’s a little strange but probably only because I carry a lot of sense memory that gets twisted at the thought of food made of string.

Knitters and crochet fans have also made cakes and cookies out of yarn.

It’s cute, especially the cupcakes (here’s the reverse). But what’s the point?

I guess it’s cool to enshrine one’s favorite thing in one’s art. Lord knows I have. Like this portrait of a young Frank I did in marker and crayon years ago.

frank1a1Sometimes your head is just full to the brim with an image, a though, a thing you crave. Sometimes you know you shouldn’t indulge in that thing so you make an icon of it. You make it a visual delight. One that can’t make you fat or pregnant.

Just as I once had to bring home hunks of rusty metal and then realized that taking photos of them would be almost as satisfying.

cinnamontwistsThis pile of cinnamon twists was something I couldn’t resist the last time I walked through the bakery section of Winco.

I don’t have to eat them to be happy.

I can just knit them or blog about them.

2 Responses to “Knit Vegetables”

  1. I completely understand your point. And I think that’s partially why I gave mine away as gifts. If I were better with the whole decorating thing, maybe I could have used them as decor? I love your portrait. I am not a drawer, but I have a self-portrait I did in Sharpie that I really like and keep in my bedroom. When I find myself overstressed in life, making something new (often out of something old) relaxes me in way that little else does.

  2. I love your blog, bekaboo. So nice there and you have good links.

Leave a comment